American Lung Association Elects Volunteer Officers for 2019-2020 National Board of Directors

EDITORS: Please note local interest and learn more about individual board members 

The American Lung Association recently elected its 2019-2020 national board of directors. The volunteer board provides management and governance in support of the American Lung Association’s mission to save lives by improving lung health and preventing lung disease. 

“Volunteers are the backbone of the American Lung Association. We are honored to have a voluntary board full of talented, passionate and intelligent leaders who will help us achieve our mission of saving lives by improving lung health and preventing lung disease,” said American Lung Association President and CEO Harold Wimmer. “We are able to serve as the premier resource for lung health thanks in part to the contributions and many combined years of service from our national board of directors.”

Penny J. Schilz will serve her final year as the chair of the organization’s national board of directors. She has served the Lung Association as a volunteer since 1993. Other officers include Stephen O’Kane as chair-elect, and Sumita Khatri, M.D., M.S., vice chair—mission programs. 

“I’m delighted to work with our board members, each of whom is a true advocate, esteemed leader and visionary,” Wimmer said. “Their skills are particularly valuable at this time, as we work toward reducing lung cancer deaths, addressing the youth vaping epidemic, increasing research funding and attaining strong air pollution health standards.”

The 2019-2020 American Lung Association National Board of Directors:
Jennifer M. Bazante, MBA, Louisville, Kentucky
Rabih I. Bechara, M.D., FCCP, Atlanta, Georgia
Larry Blumenthal, Cave Creek, Arizona
Michael F. Busk, M.D., MPH, Indianapolis, Indiana
Cheryl A. Calhoun, CPA, MBA, Los Angeles, California
Michael V. Carstens, Omaha, Nebraska
David Casey, Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Anne E. Dixon, M.D., Shelburne, Vermont
John F. Emanuel, J.D., Milwaukee, Wisconsin, past chair
David G. Hill, M.D., Waterbury, Connecticut>
Mark C. Johnson, San Diego, California
Sumita B. Khatri, M.D., M.S., Cleveland, Ohio
Stephen R. O’Kane, MBA, San Diego, California, secretary/treasurer
Jonathon K. Rosen, Wilton, Connecticut
Penny J. Schilz, Eagle, Wisconsin, chair
Kathleen M. Skambis, J.D., MBA, Orlando, Florida
Johnny A. Smith, Jr., St. Louis, Missouri
Karin A. Tollefson, PharmD, Indianapolis, Indiana
Sterling QL Yee, MBA, Honolulu, Hawaii

For more information, contact:

Allison MacMunn
[email protected]

Asthma Basics Workshop - National
, | Apr 17, 2024
Asthma Basics Workshop - National
, | May 07, 2024