Donate

Did YOUR state make the grade? DELAWARE

  • D

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association calls for the following actions to be taken by Delaware's elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the minimum sales age for tobacco products to 21 years old;
  2. Fund tobacco prevention and cessation programs at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommended level; and
  3. Increase the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack or more and equalize taxes on tobacco products to the cigarette tax.

Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • FY2019 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $6,295,100
  • FY2019 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $727,843*
  • FY2019 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $7,022,943
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $13,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 54.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $154,700,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overall Grade:

D

Help fight tobacco use

Take Action
Thumbs Down

Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions:

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • E-Cigarettes Included: Yes
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption/Local Opt-Out: No

Citation: DEL. CODE ANN. tit. 16, §§ 2901 et seq. (2015).

Overall Grade:

A

Help fight tobacco use

Take Action
Thumbs Down

Tobacco Taxes

$2.10

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overall Grade:

F

Help fight tobacco use

Take Action
Thumbs Down

Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage:

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $8.98; the median investment per smoker is $2.21

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Cessation bulletin issued
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Delaware Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Overall Grade:

B

Help fight tobacco use

Take Action
Thumbs Down

Tobacco 21

Minimum Age:

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Overall Grade:

F

Help fight tobacco use

Take Action
Thumbs Down
Better Breather Club | Riverside Shore Memorial Hospital
Nassawadox, VA | Mar 26, 2020
Better Breather Club | Riverside Tappahannock Hospital
Tappahannock, VA | Mar 26, 2020