HYBRID - Our Initiatives > Tobacco > Reports & Resources > State of Tobacco Control | American Lung Association

Location Select your location

Did Wyoming make the grade?

  • D

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Wyoming calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase tobacco taxes;
  2. Adopt a statewide, comprehensive smokefree law; and
  3. Maintain funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs.

Wyoming Highlights  |  Wyoming Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,197,974
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $807,742*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,005,716
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 58.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $45,500,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: No provision
  • Childcare Facilities: No provision
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: No
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: Wyoming State Govt. Non-Smoking Policy (1989).

Cigarette Taxes

60 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $16.42; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wyoming Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,197,974
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $807,742*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,005,716
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 58.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $45,500,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: No provision
  • Childcare Facilities: No provision
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: No
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: Wyoming State Govt. Non-Smoking Policy (1989).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

60 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $16.42; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wyoming Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Wisconsin make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • B

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Wisconsin calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Prevent funding cuts to the statewide Tobacco Prevention and Control Program (TPCP);
  2. Enact legislation that would require all sales of tobacco products and e-cigarettes to be clerk assisted; and
  3. Continue to pass local ordinances that include e-cigarettes in those communities' comprehensive smokefree air laws, setting the groundwork for future state policy.

Wisconsin Highlights  |  Wisconsin Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,300,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,256,524*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $7,556,524
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $57,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 13.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $779,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in existing tobacco bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Limited

Citation: WI STAT. ANN. § 101.123 (2010).

Cigarette Taxes

$2.52

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.15; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wisconsin Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,300,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,256,524*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $7,556,524
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $57,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 13.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $779,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in existing tobacco bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Limited

Citation: WI STAT. ANN. § 101.123 (2010).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$2.52

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.15; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wisconsin Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did West Virginia make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • D

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in West Virginia calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the excise tax on cigarettes by $1.00 per pack;
  2. Support comprehensive clean indoor air laws at the regional level; and
  3. Secure tobacco prevention and cessation funding from the general budget.

West Virginia Highlights  |  West Virginia Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,037,643
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,050,058*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,087,701
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $27,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 14.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $259,200,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: W. VA. CODE §§ 16-9A-4 (1987) & 31-20-5b (1997); WV Div. of Personnel Policy, Smoking Restrictions in the Workplace (2004); WV CSR §§ 64-21-10 (1997), 64-21-20 (1997) & 126-66-1 et seq. (1998).

*West Virginia has 64.4% of the state's population covered by comprehensive local smokefree workplace regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local smokefree ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Cigarette Taxes

$1.20

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

*On July 1, 2016, the cigarette tax increased from $0.55 to $1.20 per pack.

Thumbs up for West Virginia for increasing its cigarette tax by $0.65 to $1.20 per pack.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $8.83; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See West Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,037,643
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,050,058*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,087,701
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $27,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 14.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $259,200,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: W. VA. CODE §§ 16-9A-4 (1987) & 31-20-5b (1997); WV Div. of Personnel Policy, Smoking Restrictions in the Workplace (2004); WV CSR §§ 64-21-10 (1997), 64-21-20 (1997) & 126-66-1 et seq. (1998).

*West Virginia has 64.4% of the state's population covered by comprehensive local smokefree workplace regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local smokefree ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.20

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

*On July 1, 2016, the cigarette tax increased from $0.55 to $1.20 per pack.

Thumbs up for West Virginia for increasing its cigarette tax by $0.65 to $1.20 per pack.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $8.83; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See West Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Washington make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • C

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Washington calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Raise the legal age of sale for tobacco products to 21;
  2. Increase funding for comprehensive tobacco prevention and control programs; and
  3. Tax electronic smoking devices to reduce youth use and fund tobacco prevention programs.

Washington Highlights  |  Washington Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $2,312,707
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,780,278*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,092,985
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $63,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 8.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $595,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: WASH. REV. CODE §§ 70.160.010 et seq. (2005).

Cigarette Taxes

$3.025

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.35; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Washington Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $2,312,707
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,780,278*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,092,985
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $63,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 8.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $595,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: WASH. REV. CODE §§ 70.160.010 et seq. (2005).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$3.025

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.35; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Washington Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Virginia make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Virginia calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the cigarette excise tax by at least $1.00 per pack;
  2. Create parity between taxes on cigarettes and other tobacco products; and
  3. Fund tobacco prevention and cessation programs at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommended level.

Virginia Highlights  |  Virginia Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $8,248,304
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,482,143*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,730,447
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $91,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 11.7%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $307,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited (excludes home-based child care providers)
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: Restricted
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Restricted
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: VA. CODE ANN. §§ 15.2-2820 to 15.2-2828 (2009).

Cigarette Taxes

30 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for Virginia for having the second lowest cigarette tax in the country at 30 cents per pack.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.39; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $8,248,304
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,482,143*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,730,447
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $91,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 11.7%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $307,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited (excludes home-based child care providers)
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: Restricted
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Restricted
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: VA. CODE ANN. §§ 15.2-2820 to 15.2-2828 (2009).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

30 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for Virginia for having the second lowest cigarette tax in the country at 30 cents per pack.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.39; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Vermont make the grade?

  • D

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • B

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Vermont calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase fiscal year 2018 funding for Vermont's comprehensive tobacco control program to $5.6 million;
  2. Dedicate a percentage of annual tobacco tax revenue to sustain Vermont's efforts to prevent and reduce tobacco use; and
  3. Raise the legal age for sale of tobacco products to 21.

Vermont Highlights  |  Vermont Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,373,246
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $923,070*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,296,316
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 51.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $117,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: VT STAT. ANN. tit. 18, §§ 28-1421 to 28-1428 & 37-1741 et seq. (2014).

Cigarette Taxes

$3.08

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barries exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.34; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Vermont Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,373,246
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $923,070*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,296,316
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 51.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $117,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: VT STAT. ANN. tit. 18, §§ 28-1421 to 28-1428 & 37-1741 et seq. (2014).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$3.08

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barries exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.34; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Vermont Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Utah make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • D

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • D

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Utah calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Maintain or increase funding for state's tobacco prevention and control program;
  2. Increase the minimum legal sales age for tobacco products to 21; and
  3. Raise Utah's tobacco tax to encourage an even further reduction in tobacco use.

Utah Highlights  |  Utah Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $7,446,100
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,394,264*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,840,364
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $19,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 45.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $150,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: UTAH CODE ANN. §§ 26-38-1 et seq. (2012).

Cigarette Taxes

$1.70

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $4.79; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance Commissioner bulletin
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Utah Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 19
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $7,446,100
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,394,264*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,840,364
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $19,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 45.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $150,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: UTAH CODE ANN. §§ 26-38-1 et seq. (2012).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.70

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $4.79; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance Commissioner bulletin
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Utah Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 19

Did Texas make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Texas calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Maintain or increase funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs;
  2. Continue to pass comprehensive local smokefree ordinances to build towards a statewide smokefree law; and
  3. Increase the minimum legal sales age for tobacco products to 21.

Texas Highlights  |  Texas Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $10,223,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,297,926*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $14,520,926
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $264,100,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 5.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,900,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: No provision
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: TEX. PENAL CODE ANN. § 48.01 (1997); TX EDUC. CODE § 21.927 (1987); and TX ADMIN. CODE tit. 40, Part 19, Subchapter S, Div. 1 §§ 746.3703(d) (1995) & 747.3503(d) (1990).

*The Smokefree Air grade only examines state tobacco control law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. Texas has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 38.8% of the state's population.

Cigarette Taxes

$1.41

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.69; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Texas Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $10,223,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,297,926*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $14,520,926
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $264,100,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 5.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,900,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: No provision
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: TEX. PENAL CODE ANN. § 48.01 (1997); TX EDUC. CODE § 21.927 (1987); and TX ADMIN. CODE tit. 40, Part 19, Subchapter S, Div. 1 §§ 746.3703(d) (1995) & 747.3503(d) (1990).

*The Smokefree Air grade only examines state tobacco control law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. Texas has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 38.8% of the state's population.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.41

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.69; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Texas Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Tennessee make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • C

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Tennessee calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Repeal preemption as it relates to smokefree air laws in public places;
  2. Increase the tobacco tax by $1.00 per pack; and
  3. Increase the age of sale for tobacco products to 21.

Tennessee Highlights  |  Tennessee Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,098,473
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,493,673*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,592,146
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $75,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 3.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $418,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted*
  • Bars: Restricted*
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: TENN. CODE ANN. §§ 39-17-1801 to 39-17-1810 (2008).

*Smoking is allowed in restaurants and bars that do not allow persons under 21 to enter at any time.

Cigarette Taxes

62 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Minimal counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.37; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Tennessee Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,098,473
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,493,673*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,592,146
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $75,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 3.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $418,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted*
  • Bars: Restricted*
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: TENN. CODE ANN. §§ 39-17-1801 to 39-17-1810 (2008).

*Smoking is allowed in restaurants and bars that do not allow persons under 21 to enter at any time.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

62 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Minimal counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.37; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Tennessee Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did South Dakota make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • B

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in South Dakota calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Ensure the full $5 million in dedicated tobacco tax revenue is allocated to tobacco prevention programs;
  2. Protect South Dakota's comprehensive smokefree workplace law; and
  3. Increase the tax on cigarettes and other tobacco products.

South Dakota Highlights  |  South Dakota Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,500,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $878,994*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,378,994
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $11,700,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 46.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $88,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (smoking of certain tobacco products allowed in certain bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes*

Citation: S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-13 to 34-46-19 (2010).

*If preemption were repealed, South Dakota's grade would be an "A."

Cigarette Taxes

$1.53

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is required
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $12.38; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs down for South Dakota for providing the worst cessation coverage for Medicaid enrollees in the country.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,500,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $878,994*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,378,994
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $11,700,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 46.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $88,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (smoking of certain tobacco products allowed in certain bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes*

Citation: S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-13 to 34-46-19 (2010).

*If preemption were repealed, South Dakota's grade would be an "A."

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.53

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is required
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $12.38; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs down for South Dakota for providing the worst cessation coverage for Medicaid enrollees in the country.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did South Carolina make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • D

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in South Carolina calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase funding for the state's tobacco prevention program;
  2. Increase the number of comprehensive local smokefree air laws; and
  3. Increase the price of tobacco products to reduce tobacco use among youth and adults.

South Carolina Highlights  |  South Carolina Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,000,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $3,313,630*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,313,630
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $51,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 16.3%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $240,500,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A (tribal casinos only)
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: S.C. CODE ANN. §§ 44-95-10 et seq. (2012).

*The Smokefree Air grade only examines state law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. South Carolina has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 31.8% of the state's population.

Cigarette Taxes

57 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.98; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Carolina Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,000,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $3,313,630*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,313,630
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $51,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 16.3%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $240,500,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A (tribal casinos only)
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: S.C. CODE ANN. §§ 44-95-10 et seq. (2012).

*The Smokefree Air grade only examines state law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. South Carolina has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 31.8% of the state's population.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

57 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.98; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Carolina Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Rhode Island make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • B

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Rhode Island calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Raise the minimum age of sale for tobacco products from 18 to 21;
  2. Add e-cigarettes to Rhode Island's smokefree workplace law; and
  3. Increase funding to the Rhode Island Department of Health's tobacco control program.

Rhode Island Highlights  |  Rhode Island Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $375,622
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,999,231*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,374,853
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $12,800,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 18.6%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $194,400,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs down for Rhode Island for spending little state money on tobacco prevention and cessation programs despite smoking costing the state close to $640 million in healthcare costs each year.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in smoking bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Restricted
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: R.I. GEN. LAWS §§ 23-20.10-1 et seq. (2005).

Cigarette Taxes

$3.75

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.04; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Rhode Island Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $375,622
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,999,231*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,374,853
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $12,800,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 18.6%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $194,400,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs down for Rhode Island for spending little state money on tobacco prevention and cessation programs despite smoking costing the state close to $640 million in healthcare costs each year.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in smoking bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Restricted
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: R.I. GEN. LAWS §§ 23-20.10-1 et seq. (2005).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$3.75

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.04; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Rhode Island Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Pennsylvania make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • C

    Smokefree Air

  • D

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Pennsylvania calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Support a Youth Tobacco Prevention Package to include:
    1. Increase funding for tobacco prevention and cessation;
    2. Increase the licensure fee to sell tobacco products;
    3. Increase the age of sale for tobacco products to age 21; and
  2. Remove the exemptions from the current Clean Indoor Air Act that restricts smoking in public places and workplaces.

Pennsylvania Highlights  |  Pennsylvania Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $13,914,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,936,725*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $16,850,725
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $140,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 12.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,700,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Restricted (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: 35 PA. STAT §§ 637.1 to 637.11 (2008).

Thumbs down for Pennsylvania for failing to pass a law in the 2016 legislative session that would have protected all workers in Pennsylvania from secondhand smoke.

Cigarette Taxes

$2.60

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: N/A
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

*On August 1, 2016, the cigarette tax increased from $1.60 to $2.60 per pack.

Thumbs up for Pennsylvania for increasing its cigarette tax by $1.00 to $2.60 per pack.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.23; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Pennsylvania Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $13,914,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,936,725*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $16,850,725
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $140,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 12.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,700,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Restricted (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: 35 PA. STAT §§ 637.1 to 637.11 (2008).

Thumbs down for Pennsylvania for failing to pass a law in the 2016 legislative session that would have protected all workers in Pennsylvania from secondhand smoke.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$2.60

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: N/A
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

*On August 1, 2016, the cigarette tax increased from $1.60 to $2.60 per pack.

Thumbs up for Pennsylvania for increasing its cigarette tax by $1.00 to $2.60 per pack.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.23; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Pennsylvania Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Oregon make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Oregon calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Raise the legal age of sale for tobacco products to 21 years old;
  2. Defend Oregon's smokefree workplace law; and
  3. Maintain funding for Oregon's tobacco prevention and cessation programs.

Oregon Highlights  |  Oregon Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $9,843,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,165,203*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $11,008,203
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $39,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 28.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $357,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited (allowed in smoke shops)
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: OR. REV. STAT. §§ 433.835 to 433.990 (2015).

Cigarette Taxes

$1.32

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.51; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Oregon Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

*Investment per smoker amount does not include money contributed by Coordinated Care Organizations (CCOs) to the state quitline.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $9,843,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,165,203*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $11,008,203
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $39,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 28.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $357,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited (allowed in smoke shops)
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: OR. REV. STAT. §§ 433.835 to 433.990 (2015).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.32

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.51; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Oregon Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

*Investment per smoker amount does not include money contributed by Coordinated Care Organizations (CCOs) to the state quitline.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Oklahoma make the grade?

  • C

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • D

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Oklahoma calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Maintain dedicated funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs;
  2. Increase the cigarette tax by at least a $1.00 per pack; and
  3. Pass a comprehensive statewide smokefree law that protects all workers and patrons from secondhand smoke.

Oklahoma Highlights  |  Oklahoma Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $24,004,100
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,283,271*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $25,287,371
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $42,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 59.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $396,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs up for Oklahoma for constitutionally protecting its allocation of tobacco settlement dollars, so a consistent investment in tobacco prevention and cessation can be made.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted (prohibited on state government property)
  • Private Workplaces: Restricted
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Restricted (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 21, § 1247 & tit. 63, §§ 1-1521 et seq. (2015).

Cigarette Taxes

$1.03

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $7.38; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Oklahoma Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $24,004,100
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,283,271*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $25,287,371
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $42,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 59.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $396,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs up for Oklahoma for constitutionally protecting its allocation of tobacco settlement dollars, so a consistent investment in tobacco prevention and cessation can be made.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted (prohibited on state government property)
  • Private Workplaces: Restricted
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Restricted (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 21, § 1247 & tit. 63, §§ 1-1521 et seq. (2015).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.03

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $7.38; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Oklahoma Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Ohio make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Ohio calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Match the tax on non-cigarette forms of tobacco like spit tobacco, cigars and hookah to the cigarette tax;
  2. Increase funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs; and
  3. Pass Tobacco 21 laws to increase the minimum age of sale for tobacco products to 21 in additional cities in the state.

Ohio Highlights  |  Ohio Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $13,540,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,986,656*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $15,526,656
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $132,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 11.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,300,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: OHIO REV. CODE ANN §§ 3794.01 to 3794.09 (2006).

Cigarette Taxes

$1.60

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.42; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Ohio Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs up for Ohio for providing comprehensive coverage for all tobacco cessation medications and types of counseling to Medicaid enrollees.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $13,540,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,986,656*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $15,526,656
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $132,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 11.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,300,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: OHIO REV. CODE ANN §§ 3794.01 to 3794.09 (2006).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.60

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.42; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Ohio Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs up for Ohio for providing comprehensive coverage for all tobacco cessation medications and types of counseling to Medicaid enrollees.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did North Dakota make the grade?

  • A

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in North Dakota calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Keep the current fully-funded tobacco prevention program and smokefree air laws strong;
  2. Raise the state tobacco tax currently at .44 per pack; and
  3. Raise the age of sale for all tobacco products to 21 years old.

North Dakota Highlights  |  North Dakota Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $9,884,197
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $928,674*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,812,871
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $9,800,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 110.3%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $66,800,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs up for North Dakota for funding its state tobacco control program at or above the CDC-recommended level, one of only two states to do so this year.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: N.D. CENT. CODE §§ 23-12-9 to 23-12-11 (2013).

Cigarette Taxes

44 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for North Dakota for having the fourth lowest cigarette tax in the country.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $12.63; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See North Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs up for North Dakota for providing comprehensive coverage for all tobacco cessation medications and types of counseling to Medicaid enrollees.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $9,884,197
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $928,674*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,812,871
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $9,800,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 110.3%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $66,800,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs up for North Dakota for funding its state tobacco control program at or above the CDC-recommended level, one of only two states to do so this year.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: N.D. CENT. CODE §§ 23-12-9 to 23-12-11 (2013).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

44 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for North Dakota for having the fourth lowest cigarette tax in the country.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $12.63; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See North Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs up for North Dakota for providing comprehensive coverage for all tobacco cessation medications and types of counseling to Medicaid enrollees.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did North Carolina make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in North Carolina calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Restore funding for tobacco use prevention and cessation programs, including QuitlineNC;
  2. Resist attempts to weaken the smokefree restaurants and bars law and expand the law to include all public places and private worksites; and
  3. Increase the state cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack.

North Carolina Highlights  |  North Carolina Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,100,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $3,281,867*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,381,867
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $99,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 4.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $435,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted (prohibited in state government buildings)
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A (tribal casinos only)
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes (private workplaces and other specific venues)

Citation: N.C. GEN. STAT. §§ 130A-491 to 130A-498 (2010), 115C-407 (2007), 131D-4.4 (2007) & 131E-114.3 (2007).

Cigarette Taxes

45 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No

Thumbs down for North Carolina for having the fifth lowest cigarette tax in the country.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.97; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Limits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See North Carolina Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,100,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $3,281,867*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,381,867
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $99,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 4.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $435,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted (prohibited in state government buildings)
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A (tribal casinos only)
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes (private workplaces and other specific venues)

Citation: N.C. GEN. STAT. §§ 130A-491 to 130A-498 (2010), 115C-407 (2007), 131D-4.4 (2007) & 131E-114.3 (2007).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

45 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No

Thumbs down for North Carolina for having the fifth lowest cigarette tax in the country.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.97; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Limits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See North Carolina Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did New York make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • B

    Tobacco Taxes

  • D

    Access to Cessation Services

  • D

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in New York calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Raise the age of sale for tobacco products to 21;
  2. Expand the state Clean Indoor Air Act to restrict the use of electronic cigarettes; and
  3. Increase the level of funding for the Tobacco Control Program from $39.3 million to $52 million per year.

New York Highlights  |  New York Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $39,330,600
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $3,136,353*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $42,466,953
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $203,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 20.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $2,000,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars and allows for an economic hardship waiver)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: N.Y. [PUB. HEALTH] LAW §§ 1399-n et seq. (2003).

Cigarette Taxes

$4.35

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs up for New York for having the highest state cigarette tax in the country.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 Medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Data not provided*
  • Counseling: Data not provided*
  • Barriers to Coverage: Data not provided*

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.78; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance commissioner guidance
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See New York Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

*Current data on tobacco cessation coverage for state employees was not provided this year and the past several years therefore 0 points were awarded for the State Employee Health Plan subcategory.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

*New York has 54% of the state's population covered by Tobacco 21 ordinances/regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $39,330,600
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $3,136,353*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $42,466,953
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $203,000,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 20.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $2,000,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars and allows for an economic hardship waiver)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: N.Y. [PUB. HEALTH] LAW §§ 1399-n et seq. (2003).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$4.35

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs up for New York for having the highest state cigarette tax in the country.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 Medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Data not provided*
  • Counseling: Data not provided*
  • Barriers to Coverage: Data not provided*

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.78; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance commissioner guidance
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See New York Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

*Current data on tobacco cessation coverage for state employees was not provided this year and the past several years therefore 0 points were awarded for the State Employee Health Plan subcategory.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

*New York has 54% of the state's population covered by Tobacco 21 ordinances/regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Did New Mexico make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • B

    Smokefree Air

  • D

    Tobacco Taxes

  • C

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in New Mexico calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Maintain or increase funding for state's tobacco prevention and control program;
  2. Protect New Mexicans from secondhand smoke, including in multi-unit housing; and
  3. Raise the tax on cigarettes and other tobacco products including snuff, chew and cigarillos.

New Mexico Highlights  |  New Mexico Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,684,500
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,259,645*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $6,944,145
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $22,800,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 30.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $133,800,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with two or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: N.M. STAT. ANN. §§ 24-16-1 et seq. (2007).

Cigarette Taxes

$1.66

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.28; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See New Mexico Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,684,500
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,259,645*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $6,944,145
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $22,800,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 30.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $133,800,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with two or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in cigar bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: N.M. STAT. ANN. §§ 24-16-1 et seq. (2007).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.66

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.28; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See New Mexico Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Ask An Expert

Questions about your lung health? Need help finding healthcare? Call 1-800-LUNGUSA.

Get help
We need your generous support

Make a difference by delivering research, education and advocacy to those impacted by lung disease.

What is LUNG FORCE?

LUNG FORCE unites women and their loved ones across the country to stand together in the fight against lung cancer.

Get involved
Join the fight for healthy lungs and healthy air.
Donate Now.