HYBRID - Our Initiatives > Tobacco > Reports & Resources > State of Tobacco Control | American Lung Association

Did Wyoming make the grade?

  • D

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Wyoming calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase tobacco taxes;
  2. Adopt a statewide, comprehensive smokefree law; and
  3. Maintain funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs.

Wyoming Highlights  |  Wyoming Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,197,974
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $807,742*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,005,716
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 58.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $45,500,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: No provision
  • Childcare Facilities: No provision
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: No
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: Wyoming State Govt. Non-Smoking Policy (1989).

Cigarette Taxes

60 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $16.42; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wyoming Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,197,974
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $807,742*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,005,716
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 58.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $45,500,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: No provision
  • Childcare Facilities: No provision
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: No
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: Wyoming State Govt. Non-Smoking Policy (1989).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

60 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $16.42; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wyoming Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Wyoming make the grade?

  • D

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Wyoming calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Support and implement a $1.00 increase in the tobacco tax
  2. Increase/maintain funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs; and
  3. Adopt a statewide, comprehensive smokefree law.

Wyoming Highlights  |  Wyoming Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,702,087
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $848,756*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,550,843
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 53.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $41,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: No provision
  • Childcare Facilities: No provision
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: No
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: Wyoming State Govt. Non-Smoking Policy (1989).

Cigarette Taxes

60 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $11.01; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wyoming Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,702,087
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $848,756*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,550,843
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 53.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $41,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: No provision
  • Childcare Facilities: No provision
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: No
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: Wyoming State Govt. Non-Smoking Policy (1989).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

60 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $11.01; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wyoming Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Wisconsin make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • D

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Wisconsin calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Pass legislation that places ALL tobacco products behind the counter or in a locked cabinet
  2. Lay the groundwork for future passage of Tobacco 21 legislation; and
  3. Pass legislation requiring all school districts to have a comprehensive e-cigarette policy that prohibits use on school grounds.

Wisconsin Highlights  |  Wisconsin Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,300,000
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,722,344*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,022,344
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $57,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 14.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $791,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in existing tobacco bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Limited

Citation: WI STAT. ANN. § 101.123 (2010).

Cigarette Taxes

$2.52

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.37; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wisconsin Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,300,000
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,722,344*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,022,344
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $57,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 14.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $791,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in existing tobacco bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Limited

Citation: WI STAT. ANN. § 101.123 (2010).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$2.52

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.37; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wisconsin Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Wisconsin make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • B

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Wisconsin calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Prevent funding cuts to the statewide Tobacco Prevention and Control Program (TPCP);
  2. Enact legislation that would require all sales of tobacco products and e-cigarettes to be clerk assisted; and
  3. Continue to pass local ordinances that include e-cigarettes in those communities' comprehensive smokefree air laws, setting the groundwork for future state policy.

Wisconsin Highlights  |  Wisconsin Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,300,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,256,524*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $7,556,524
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $57,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 13.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $779,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in existing tobacco bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Limited

Citation: WI STAT. ANN. § 101.123 (2010).

Cigarette Taxes

$2.52

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.15; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wisconsin Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $5,300,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,256,524*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $7,556,524
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $57,500,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 13.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $779,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (allowed in existing tobacco bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Limited

Citation: WI STAT. ANN. § 101.123 (2010).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$2.52

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $1.15; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Wisconsin Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did West Virginia make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • C

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • D

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in West Virginia calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Restoration of West Virginia state funding for tobacco prevention and cessation
  2. Protect clean indoor air regulations as they currently exist throughout the state; and
  3. Increase tobacco excise tax to be in line with the national average.

West Virginia Highlights  |  West Virginia Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $0
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,946,513*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,946,513
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $27,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 7.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $332,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs down for West Virginia for completely eliminating funding for its state tobacco control program.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: W. VA. CODE §§ 16-9A-4 (1987) & 31-20-5b (1997); WV Div. of Personnel Policy, Smoking Restrictions in the Workplace (2004); WV CSR §§ 64-21-10 (1997), 64-21-20 (1997) & 126-66-1 et seq. (1998).

*Note: West Virginia has 65.1% of the state's population covered by comprehensive local smokefree workplace regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local smokefree ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Cigarette Taxes

$1.20

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $2.21; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See West Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $0
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,946,513*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,946,513
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $27,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 7.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $332,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs down for West Virginia for completely eliminating funding for its state tobacco control program.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: W. VA. CODE §§ 16-9A-4 (1987) & 31-20-5b (1997); WV Div. of Personnel Policy, Smoking Restrictions in the Workplace (2004); WV CSR §§ 64-21-10 (1997), 64-21-20 (1997) & 126-66-1 et seq. (1998).

*Note: West Virginia has 65.1% of the state's population covered by comprehensive local smokefree workplace regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local smokefree ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.20

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $2.21; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See West Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did West Virginia make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • D

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in West Virginia calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the excise tax on cigarettes by $1.00 per pack;
  2. Support comprehensive clean indoor air laws at the regional level; and
  3. Secure tobacco prevention and cessation funding from the general budget.

West Virginia Highlights  |  West Virginia Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,037,643
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,050,058*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,087,701
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $27,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 14.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $259,200,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: W. VA. CODE §§ 16-9A-4 (1987) & 31-20-5b (1997); WV Div. of Personnel Policy, Smoking Restrictions in the Workplace (2004); WV CSR §§ 64-21-10 (1997), 64-21-20 (1997) & 126-66-1 et seq. (1998).

*West Virginia has 64.4% of the state's population covered by comprehensive local smokefree workplace regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local smokefree ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Cigarette Taxes

$1.20

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

*On July 1, 2016, the cigarette tax increased from $0.55 to $1.20 per pack.

Thumbs up for West Virginia for increasing its cigarette tax by $0.65 to $1.20 per pack.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $8.83; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See West Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,037,643
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,050,058*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,087,701
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $27,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 14.9%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $259,200,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Restricted
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: No provision
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: No
  • Preemption: No

Citation: W. VA. CODE §§ 16-9A-4 (1987) & 31-20-5b (1997); WV Div. of Personnel Policy, Smoking Restrictions in the Workplace (2004); WV CSR §§ 64-21-10 (1997), 64-21-20 (1997) & 126-66-1 et seq. (1998).

*West Virginia has 64.4% of the state's population covered by comprehensive local smokefree workplace regulations. If a state has more than 50% of its population covered by local smokefree ordinances/regulations, the state is graded based on population covered by those local ordinances/regulations rather than the statewide law.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.20

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

*On July 1, 2016, the cigarette tax increased from $0.55 to $1.20 per pack.

Thumbs up for West Virginia for increasing its cigarette tax by $0.65 to $1.20 per pack.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $8.83; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See West Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Washington make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • C

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Washington calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Raise the legal age of sale for tobacco products to 21;
  2. Increase funding for comprehensive tobacco prevention and control programs; and
  3. Tax electronic smoking devices to reduce youth use and fund tobacco prevention programs.

Washington Highlights  |  Washington Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $2,312,707
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,780,278*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,092,985
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $63,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 8.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $595,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: WASH. REV. CODE §§ 70.160.010 et seq. (2005).

Cigarette Taxes

$3.025

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.35; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Washington Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $2,312,707
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,780,278*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,092,985
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $63,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 8.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $595,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: WASH. REV. CODE §§ 70.160.010 et seq. (2005).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$3.025

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: All 3 forms of counseling are covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.35; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Washington Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Washington make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • C

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Washington calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Raise the minimum legal sale age for tobacco products to 21 years of age
  2. Increase funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs; and
  3. Maintain the comprehensive smokefree air law.

Washington Highlights  |  Washington Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,406,388
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,725,427*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,131,815
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $63,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 6.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $563,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: WASH. REV. CODE §§ 70.160.010 et seq. (2005).

Cigarette Taxes

$3.025

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Data not provided*
  • Counseling: Data not provided*
  • Barriers to Coverage: Data not provided"

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.42; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Washington Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

*Current data on tobacco cessation coverage for state employees was not provided this year, therefore zero points were awarded in the State Employee Health Plans subcategory

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,406,388
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,725,427*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,131,815
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $63,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 6.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $563,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited (tribal establishments exempt)
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: WASH. REV. CODE §§ 70.160.010 et seq. (2005).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$3.025

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Significant barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Data not provided*
  • Counseling: Data not provided*
  • Barriers to Coverage: Data not provided"

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.42; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Washington Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

*Current data on tobacco cessation coverage for state employees was not provided this year, therefore zero points were awarded in the State Employee Health Plans subcategory

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Virginia make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Virginia calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the cigarette excise tax by at least $1.00 per pack
  2. Create parity between taxes on cigarettes and other tobacco products; and
  3. Fund tobacco prevention and cessation programs at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)-recommended level.

Virginia Highlights  |  Virginia Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $8,517,532
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,482,143*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,999,675
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $91,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 12.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $314,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited (excludes home-based child care providers)
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: Restricted
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Restricted
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: VA. CODE ANN. §§ 15.2-2820 to 15.2-2828 (2009).

Cigarette Taxes

30 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for Virginia for having the second lowest cigarette tax in the country at 30 cents per pack.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.39; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $8,517,532
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,482,143*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,999,675
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $91,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 12.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $314,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited (excludes home-based child care providers)
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: Restricted
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Restricted
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: VA. CODE ANN. §§ 15.2-2820 to 15.2-2828 (2009).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

30 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for Virginia for having the second lowest cigarette tax in the country at 30 cents per pack.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.39; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Virginia make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Virginia calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the cigarette excise tax by at least $1.00 per pack;
  2. Create parity between taxes on cigarettes and other tobacco products; and
  3. Fund tobacco prevention and cessation programs at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommended level.

Virginia Highlights  |  Virginia Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $8,248,304
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,482,143*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,730,447
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $91,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 11.7%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $307,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited (excludes home-based child care providers)
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: Restricted
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Restricted
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: VA. CODE ANN. §§ 15.2-2820 to 15.2-2828 (2009).

Cigarette Taxes

30 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for Virginia for having the second lowest cigarette tax in the country at 30 cents per pack.

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.39; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $8,248,304
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,482,143*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $10,730,447
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $91,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 11.7%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $307,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Restricted
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Prohibited (public schools only)
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited (excludes home-based child care providers)
  • Restaurants: Restricted
  • Bars: Restricted
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: Restricted
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: VA. CODE ANN. §§ 15.2-2820 to 15.2-2828 (2009).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

30 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Thumbs down for Virginia for having the second lowest cigarette tax in the country at 30 cents per pack.

Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.39; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Virginia Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Vermont make the grade?

  • D

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • B

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Vermont calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase fiscal year 2018 funding for Vermont's comprehensive tobacco control program to $5.6 million;
  2. Dedicate a percentage of annual tobacco tax revenue to sustain Vermont's efforts to prevent and reduce tobacco use; and
  3. Raise the legal age for sale of tobacco products to 21.

Vermont Highlights  |  Vermont Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,373,246
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $923,070*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,296,316
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 51.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $117,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: VT STAT. ANN. tit. 18, §§ 28-1421 to 28-1428 & 37-1741 et seq. (2014).

Cigarette Taxes

$3.08

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barries exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.34; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Vermont Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,373,246
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $923,070*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,296,316
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 51.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $117,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: VT STAT. ANN. tit. 18, §§ 28-1421 to 28-1428 & 37-1741 et seq. (2014).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$3.08

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: No barries exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.34; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Vermont Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Vermont make the grade?

  • D

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • B

    Tobacco Taxes

  • B

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Vermont calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase fiscal year 2019 funding for Vermont's comprehensive tobacco control program to $3.8 million;
  2. Raise the legal age for sale of tobacco products to 21; and
  3. Require landlords to disclose smoking policies in building to prospective renters.

Vermont Highlights  |  Vermont Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,563,252
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,255,554*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,818,806
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 57.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $106,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: VT STAT. ANN. tit. 18, §§ 28-1421 to 28-1428 & 37-1741 et seq. (2014).

Cigarette Taxes

$3.08

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.27; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Vermont Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Thumbs down for Vermont for failing to pass legislation to increase the tobacco sales age to 21.

Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $3,563,252
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,255,554*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,818,806
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $8,400,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 57.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $106,100,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: VT STAT. ANN. tit. 18, §§ 28-1421 to 28-1428 & 37-1741 et seq. (2014).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$3.08

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: Yes

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $5.27; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Yes
  • Tobacco Surcharge: Prohibits tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Vermont Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Thumbs down for Vermont for failing to pass legislation to increase the tobacco sales age to 21.

Did Utah make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • C

    Access to Cessation Services

  • D

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Utah calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Maintain or increase funding for state's tobacco prevention and control program
  2. Increase the minimum legal sales age for tobacco products to 21; and
  3. Raise Utah's tobacco tax to encourage an even further reduction in tobacco use.

Utah Highlights  |  Utah Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $7,215,800
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,105,814*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,321,614
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $19,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 43.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $144,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: UTAH CODE ANN. §§ 26-38-1 et seq. (2012).

Cigarette Taxes

$1.70

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $6.62; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance Commissioner bulletin
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Utah Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 19
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $7,215,800
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,105,814*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,321,614
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $19,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 43.1%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $144,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: UTAH CODE ANN. §§ 26-38-1 et seq. (2012).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.70

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $6.62; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance Commissioner bulletin
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Utah Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 19

Did Utah make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • A

    Smokefree Air

  • D

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • D

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Utah calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Maintain or increase funding for state's tobacco prevention and control program;
  2. Increase the minimum legal sales age for tobacco products to 21; and
  3. Raise Utah's tobacco tax to encourage an even further reduction in tobacco use.

Utah Highlights  |  Utah Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $7,446,100
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,394,264*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,840,364
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $19,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 45.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $150,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: UTAH CODE ANN. §§ 26-38-1 et seq. (2012).

Cigarette Taxes

$1.70

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $4.79; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance Commissioner bulletin
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Utah Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 19
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $7,446,100
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,394,264*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,840,364
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $19,300,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 45.8%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $150,900,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: UTAH CODE ANN. §§ 26-38-1 et seq. (2012).

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.70

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $4.79; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: Insurance Commissioner bulletin
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Utah Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 19

Did Texas make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Texas calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Maintain or increase funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs;
  2. Continue to pass comprehensive local smokefree ordinances to build towards a statewide smokefree law; and
  3. Increase the minimum legal sales age for tobacco products to 21.

Texas Highlights  |  Texas Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $10,223,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,297,926*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $14,520,926
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $264,100,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 5.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,900,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: No provision
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: TEX. PENAL CODE ANN. § 48.01 (1997); TX EDUC. CODE § 21.927 (1987); and TX ADMIN. CODE tit. 40, Part 19, Subchapter S, Div. 1 §§ 746.3703(d) (1995) & 747.3503(d) (1990).

*The Smokefree Air grade only examines state tobacco control law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. Texas has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 38.8% of the state's population.

Cigarette Taxes

$1.41

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.69; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Texas Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $10,223,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,297,926*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $14,520,926
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $264,100,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 5.5%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,900,000,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: No provision
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: TEX. PENAL CODE ANN. § 48.01 (1997); TX EDUC. CODE § 21.927 (1987); and TX ADMIN. CODE tit. 40, Part 19, Subchapter S, Div. 1 §§ 746.3703(d) (1995) & 747.3503(d) (1990).

*The Smokefree Air grade only examines state tobacco control law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. Texas has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 38.8% of the state's population.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.41

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Limited barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.69; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Texas Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Texas make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • F

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Texas calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Restore funding for tobacco prevention and cessation programs that was significantly cut in years 2018 and 2019
  2. Continue to pass comprehensive local smokefree ordinances to builds towards a statewide smokefree law; and
  3. Increasing the minimum legal sales age for tobacco products to 21.

Texas Highlights  |  Texas Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,426,017
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,526,373*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,952,390
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $264,100,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 3.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,908,200,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs down for Texas for cutting funding for its state tobacco control program by close to $5.8 million this fiscal year.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: No provision
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: TEX. PENAL CODE ANN. § 48.01 (2015); TX EDUC. CODE § 38.006 (2015); and TX ADMIN. CODE tit. 40, Part 19, Subchapter S, Div. 1 §§ 746.3703(d) (1995) & 747.3503(d) (1990).

*Note: The Smokefree Air grade only examines state tobacco control law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. Texas has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 39.9% of the state's population.

Cigarette Taxes

$1.41

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.63; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Texas Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,426,017
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $4,526,373*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $8,952,390
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $264,100,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 3.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $1,908,200,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs down for Texas for cutting funding for its state tobacco control program by close to $5.8 million this fiscal year.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: No provision
  • Private Workplaces: No provision
  • Schools: Restricted
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: No provision
  • Bars: No provision
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: No provision
  • Retail Stores: No provision
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Restricted
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: No

Citation: TEX. PENAL CODE ANN. § 48.01 (2015); TX EDUC. CODE § 38.006 (2015); and TX ADMIN. CODE tit. 40, Part 19, Subchapter S, Div. 1 §§ 746.3703(d) (1995) & 747.3503(d) (1990).

*Note: The Smokefree Air grade only examines state tobacco control law and does not reflect local smokefree ordinances. Texas has made great strides in protecting people from secondhand smoke by passing comprehensive local smokefree ordinances that cover 39.9% of the state's population.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.41

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: Yes
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Most medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.63; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Texas Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Tennessee make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • C

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Tennessee calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the tobacco tax by $1.00 per pack or more
  2. Repeal preemption to allow local communities to pass stronger smokefree ordinances; and
  3. Pass legislation to make tobacco cessation medications and counseling covered under Medicaid barrier free.

Tennessee Highlights  |  Tennessee Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $6,223,220
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,506,829*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $7,730,049
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $75,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 10.2%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $428,700,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs Up for Tennessee for increasing its funding for tobacco control programs by over $5 million in fiscal year 2018.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted*
  • Bars: Restricted*
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: TENN. CODE ANN. §§ 39-17-1801 to 39-17-1810 (2008).

*Smoking is allowed in restaurants and bars that do not allow persons under 21 to enter at any time.

Cigarette Taxes

62 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Minimal counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.43; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Tennessee Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $6,223,220
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,506,829*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $7,730,049
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $75,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 10.2%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $428,700,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Thumbs Up for Tennessee for increasing its funding for tobacco control programs by over $5 million in fiscal year 2018.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted*
  • Bars: Restricted*
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: TENN. CODE ANN. §§ 39-17-1801 to 39-17-1810 (2008).

*Smoking is allowed in restaurants and bars that do not allow persons under 21 to enter at any time.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

62 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Minimal counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.43; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Tennessee Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did Tennessee make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • C

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in Tennessee calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Repeal preemption as it relates to smokefree air laws in public places;
  2. Increase the tobacco tax by $1.00 per pack; and
  3. Increase the age of sale for tobacco products to 21.

Tennessee Highlights  |  Tennessee Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,098,473
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,493,673*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,592,146
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $75,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 3.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $418,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted*
  • Bars: Restricted*
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: TENN. CODE ANN. §§ 39-17-1801 to 39-17-1810 (2008).

*Smoking is allowed in restaurants and bars that do not allow persons under 21 to enter at any time.

Cigarette Taxes

62 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Minimal counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.37; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Tennessee Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $1,098,473
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $1,493,673*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $2,592,146
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $75,600,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 3.4%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $418,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited (non-public workplaces with three or fewer employees exempt)
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Restricted*
  • Bars: Restricted*
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: N/A
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes

Citation: TENN. CODE ANN. §§ 39-17-1801 to 39-17-1810 (2008).

*Smoking is allowed in restaurants and bars that do not allow persons under 21 to enter at any time.

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

62 cents

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Minimal counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: All 7 medications are covered
  • Counseling: Most counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $0.37; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See Tennessee Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did South Dakota make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • B

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in South Dakota calls for the following three actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Ensure the full $5 million in dedicated tobacco tax revenue is allocated to tobacco prevention programs;
  2. Protect South Dakota's comprehensive smokefree workplace law; and
  3. Increase the tax on cigarettes and other tobacco products.

South Dakota Highlights  |  South Dakota Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,500,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $878,994*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,378,994
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $11,700,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 46.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $88,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (smoking of certain tobacco products allowed in certain bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes*

Citation: S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-13 to 34-46-19 (2010).

*If preemption were repealed, South Dakota's grade would be an "A."

Cigarette Taxes

$1.53

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is required
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $12.38; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs down for South Dakota for providing the worst cessation coverage for Medicaid enrollees in the country.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2017 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,500,000
  • FY2017 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $878,994*
  • FY2017 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,378,994
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $11,700,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 46.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $88,300,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (smoking of certain tobacco products allowed in certain bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes*

Citation: S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-13 to 34-46-19 (2010).

*If preemption were repealed, South Dakota's grade would be an "A."

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.53

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: No; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: No counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is required
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $12.38; the average investment per smoker is $3.46

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs down for South Dakota for providing the worst cessation coverage for Medicaid enrollees in the country.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18

Did South Dakota make the grade?

  • F

    Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding

  • B

    Smokefree Air

  • F

    Tobacco Taxes

  • F

    Access to Cessation Services

  • F

    Tobacco 21

The American Lung Association in South Dakota calls for the following actions to be taken by our elected officials to reduce tobacco use and exposure to secondhand smoke:

  1. Increase the tax on cigarettes and other tobacco products
  2. Raise the age of sale for all tobacco products to 21 years old; and
  3. Protect South Dakota's comprehensive smokefree workplace law.

South Dakota Highlights  |  South Dakota Tobacco Control Laws &  Policies  |  Federal Grade Summary

  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,500,000
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $880,166*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,380,166
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $11,700,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 46.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $87,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (smoking of certain tobacco products allowed in certain bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes*

Citation: S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-13 to 34-46-19 (2010).

*If preemption were repealed, South Dakota's grade would be an "A."

Cigarette Taxes

$1.53

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $16.34; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs down for South Dakota for providing the worst cessation coverage for Medicaid enrollees in the country.

  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Funding
  • FY2018 State Funding for Tobacco Control Programs: $4,500,000
  • FY2018 Federal Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $880,166*
  • FY2018 Total Funding for State Tobacco Control Programs: $5,380,166
  • CDC Best Practices State Spending Recommendation: $11,700,000
  • Percentage of CDC Recommended Level: 46.0%
  • State Tobacco-Related Revenue: $87,600,000

*Includes tobacco prevention and cessation funding provided to states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Smokefree Air Smokefree Air

Overview of State Smoking Restrictions

  • Government Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Private Workplaces: Prohibited
  • Schools: Prohibited
  • Childcare Facilities: Prohibited
  • Restaurants: Prohibited
  • Bars: Prohibited (smoking of certain tobacco products allowed in certain bars)
  • Casinos/Gaming Establishments: Prohibited
  • Retail Stores: Prohibited
  • Recreational/Cultural Facilities: Prohibited
  • Penalties: Yes
  • Enforcement: Yes
  • Preemption: Yes*

Citation: S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-13 to 34-46-19 (2010).

*If preemption were repealed, South Dakota's grade would be an "A."

Tobacco Taxes Tobacco Taxes

Cigarette Taxes

$1.53

Other Tobacco Product Taxes:
  • Tax on little cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on large cigars: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on smokeless tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on pipe/RYO tobacco: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
  • Tax on Dissolvable Tobacco Products: Equalized: Yes; Weight-Based: No
Access to Cessation Services Access to Cessation Services

Overview of State Cessation Coverage

State Medicaid Program:

  • Medications: Limited medications are covered
  • Counseling: Limited counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care
  • Medicaid Expansion: No

State Employee Health Plan(s):

  • Medications: Some medications are covered
  • Counseling: Some counseling is covered
  • Barriers to Coverage: Some barriers exist to access care

State Quitline:

  • Investment Per Smoker: $16.34; the median investment per smoker is $2.10

Other Cessation Provisions:

  • Private Insurance Mandate: No provision
  • Tobacco Surcharge: No prohibition or limitation on tobacco surcharges

Citation: See South Dakota Tobacco Cessation Coverage page for specific sources.

Thumbs down for South Dakota for providing the worst cessation coverage for Medicaid enrollees in the country.

Tobacco 21 Tobacco 21
  • Minimum Age of Sale for Tobacco Products: 18
Ask An Expert

Questions about your lung health? Need help finding healthcare? Call 1-800-LUNGUSA.

Get help
We need your generous support

Make a difference by delivering research, education and advocacy to those impacted by lung disease.

What is LUNG FORCE?

LUNG FORCE unites women and their loved ones across the country to stand together in the fight against lung cancer.

Get involved
Join the fight for healthy lungs and healthy air.
Donate Now.