Lung Disease Support

Better Breathers Clubs offer the opportunity to learn ways to better cope with COPD while getting the support of others who share in your struggles. These support groups provide the tools you need to live the best quality of life you can.

Better Breathers Clubs meet regularly and feature educational presentations on a wide range of relevant topics, including how COPD affects the lungs, breathing techniques, exercise, home health care and more. 

If you feel alone and isolated, these support groups can help. It feels good to talk with others who understand, which has a positive impact on your health.  Below is a listing of pulminary support groups in Illinois.

Pulmonary rehab sessions usually last 6-8 week. During these sessions you will learn to exercise and manage your disease through physical activity, self-care, breathing techniques, energy conservation, and medication usage. Pulmonary rehab needs to be recommend by your doctor; be sure to ask your doctor during your next visit to attend pulmonary rehab.

Pulmonary Rehabilitation Information

Avera Hand County Memorial Hospital
Marcia Gerdes, RRT
marcia.gerdes@avera.org
605-853-2421
300 W 5th, Miller, SD

Avera St Lukes Hospital
Brenda Hanson, RRT
brenda.hanson@avera.org
605-622-5548
305 S State St., Aberdeen, SD

Avera McKennan Hospital
Jean Snyders, RRT, CPFT
jean.snyders@avera.org
605-322-5377
810 E 23rd St., Sioux Falls, SD

Avera Sacred Heart Hospital
Joan Hochstein, RRT, CPFT, AE-C
Jhockstein@avera.org
605-668-8274
501 S Summit St., Yankton, SD

Brookings Health System
Jesse Walsh
jwalsh@brookingshealth.org
605-696-7729
300 22nd St., Brookings, SD

Community Memorial Hospital
Julene Cass, RN
julene.cass@redfieldcmh.org
605-472-1110
111 W 10th Ave., Redfield, SD

Fall River Health Services
David Alexander
605-745-8910 ext 149
1201 Hwy 71
Hot Springs, SD

Huron Regional Medical Center
Myrna Lakner, RN, BSN
mlakner@huronregional.org
605-353-6531
172 4th St SE, Huron, SD

Lead-Deadwood Regional Hospital
Steve McCollar and Janelle Agan
jagan@regionalhealth.com; smccollar@regionalhealth.com
605-719-6245
61 Charles St., Deadwood, SD

Madison Community Hospital
Mary Hart, RRT
mary.hart@madisonhospital.com
605-256-6551
917 N Washington Ave. ,Madison, SD

Milbank Area Hospitals Avera
Corrine McCulloch, CRT
corrine.mcculloch@avera.org
605-432-3290
901 E Virgil Ave., Milbank, SD

Mobridge Regional Hospital
Deb Brekke, RN, BSN
dbrekke@primecare.org
605-845-8134
1401 10th Ave. W, Mobridge, SD

Prairie Lakes Hospital
Bobbi Bach, RN
bobbie.bach@prairielakes.com
605-882-7850
401 9th Ave. NW, Watertown, SD

Rapid City Regional Hospital
Kathy Styles, RRT
Kstyles@regionalhealth.com
605-719-8311
353 Fairmont Blvd., Rapid City, SD

St Marys Hospital
Becky Bergeson, RN
beckybergeson@catholichealth.net
605-224-3187
801 E Sioux, Pierre, SD

Sanford USD Medical Center
June Schulz, RRT, FAACVPR
june.schulz@sanfordhealth.org
605-328-1890
3401 W 49th St., Sioux Falls, SD

Spearfish Regional Hospital
Deb Winter, RN, CDE, CFCN
dwinter@regionalhealth.com
605-644-4000
1440 N Main St., Spearfish, SD

Sturgis Regional Hospital
Morgan Newman, RN
mnewman@regionalhealth.com
605-720-2519
949 Harmon St., Sturgis, SD