Lung Cancer Expert Medical Advisory Panel

The Lung Cancer Expert Medical Advisory Panel provides the American Lung Association with strategic advice on critical lung cancer science and lung cancer-related issues. The panel members share their knowledge about trends in prevention, early detection and novel treatments; provide guidance on gaps in patient needs; review American Lung Association’s clinician tools; and contribute to the association's overall lung cancer policy strategy. We are grateful for the support they provide to American Lung Association's lung cancer efforts.

Dr. David P. Carbone

David P. Carbone, MD, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine, Director of the James Thoracic Center

David Tom Cooke, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
University of California, Davis Medical Center

Alberto de Hoyas, MD
Director of the Center for Robotic and Minimally Invasive Thoracic Surgery
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Jorge Gomez, MD
Senior Faculty Medicine
Mt. Sinai Hospital

Curtis C. Harris, MD
Head, Molecular Genetics and Carcinogenesis Section, Laboratory Chief
Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute

Eric Hart, MD
Associate Professor of Radiology
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Neil Hayes, MD, MPH
Associate Professor
Clinical Research Hematology/Oncology


James Jett, MD
Professor of Medicine
National Jewish Health

Robert Keith, MD
Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology, Division of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care Medicine
University of Colorado Denver

Scott Lippman, MD
Director, Moores Cancer Center
Senior Associate Dean, UC San Diego


Thomas Lynch, MD
Richard Sackler and Jonathan Sackler Professor of Medicine (Medical Oncology); Director
Yale Cancer Center

David Madtes, MD
Associate Professor
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, University of Washington


Pierre Massion, MD
Professor of Medicine in the Division of Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and Professor of Cancer Biology
Vanderbilt Medical Center

Andrea McKee, MD
Chairman of Radiation Oncology
Lahey Hospital & Medical Center (LHMC) Sophia Gordon Cancer Center

James Mulshine, MD
Acting Dean of the Graduate College and Vice President and Associate Provost of Research
Rush University

Larry Norton
Deputy Physician-in-Chief for Breast Cancer Programs, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Medical Director, Evelyn H. Lauder Breast Center

Joe Pressler, MD
University of Mississippi Medical Center

Albert Rizzo, MD, FACP, FCCP
Section Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Christiana Care Health Systems


Jonathan M. Samet, MD, MS
Director, Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair
University of Southern California

Rachel Sanborn, MD
Co-Director, Providence Thoracic Oncology Program
Providence Cancer Center


Alice Shaw, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital